slumdog millionaire

March 20, 2009 at 5:00 am (Uncategorized)

O…Saya

Slumdog Millionaire

 

They can’t touch me

We break off

Run so fast they can’t even touch me

Been that gypsy

Touch me I’ll show you tricks

with my zig-zag quickly

Pick up that pack on my journey

Dogs run, they start to follow me

Have my luck, some days they suck

When you live for the buck

We get for the family

 

One day I wanna be a star

So I get to hang in a bar

I’ll go to Vegas with the playas

Just to forget my scars

 

Sweat shops have made me shifty

Like a ninja with speed I’m nifty

I hope I live ’til I’m fifty

See my city go from gritty to pretty

 

this movie is such a great social commentary!  one part that really struck me was when Jamal as a little boy starts getting beaten by an Indian policeman in the presence of two americans he was showing around the countryside.  The Americans beg the policeman to stop, and Jamal snarls, “you wanted to see the real India, well here it is!”  to which the American woman replies, “well here’s a bit of the REAL America, son!” she motions to her husband to get out his wallet.  the man hands jamal a hundred dollar bill.  Yes, throwing money to absolve guilt, solve the world’s problems, and then just walk away- that’s the real America, folks.  

This song is the life-cry of so many.  Little children becoming shifty because of working in sweat shops. They’re lucky if they make it to 50.  Every day trying to erase the scars on their memories of the things they have witnessed.  While the fat kid in the train stuffs his mouth with food, Jamal risks his very life to be lowered by rope so he can reach some bread on the rich family’s table.  Lord Jesus, have mercy on us.

Leave a comment